Skip to main content

ASCIA Constitution

Since 2015 Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy Limited (ASCIA) has been a Company limited by guarantee (ACN 608 798 241; ABN 45 615 521 452).

Allergy and Immunology Foundation of Australasia (AIFA), is an initiative of ASCIA and is therefore not registered as a separate company.  AIFA was established by ASCIA in 2013 with the main aim to raise funds to support research into immune system disorders in Australia and New Zealand. These disorders comprise allergic diseases, primary immunodeficiencies and other immune diseases.

ASCIA and AIFA are registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) with tax deductible status. ASCIA has been registered as a charity since 2005.

Prior to being registered as a Company limited by guarantee in 2015, ASCIA was registered as an incorporated association No A0021111T with Consumer Affairs Victoria since 1990.

The ASCIA name changed slightly in 2015 when ASCIA changed from an incorporated association with the name ‘The Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy Inc’ to a Company limited by guarantee with the amended name ‘Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy’ (without ‘The’ and ‘Inc’). The acronym ‘ASCIA’ is unchanged.

The current ASCIA Company Directors are Associate Professor Theresa Cole (President), Dr Michael O'Sullivan (President Elect), Associate Professor Jane Peake and Dr Kathryn Patchett.  The ASCIA Company Secretary is Jill Smith who is also the ASCIA Chief Executive Officer.

The ASCIA Constitution and By Laws are available on this webpage:

pdfASCIA Constitution 2018515.32 KB 

pdfASCIA By-Laws Membership Council 2024202.07 KB - Updated May 2024

Content updated May 2024