Skip to main content

ASCIA 2021 Conference Report

ASCIA2021 VIRTUAL Conference

pdfASCIA 2021 Virtual Program Book 1-3 September571.14 KB

The ASCIA 2021 Conference was a highy successful virtual event, which was held from Wednesday 1st to Friday 3rd September 2021. Whilst we would have preferred to have been together in person, our decision to host a Virtual Conference provided some much-needed certainty and change of routine during challenging times.

The ASCIA 2021 Virtual Conference was the largest ASCIA Conference to date, with almost 700 registered delegates. We are proud of what was achieved and we received very positive feedback about the content and platform from delegates and sponsors.

The Conference provided an international standard of CPD/CME for delegates, with 58 speakers in the main program, including 12 international experts, 71 poster presentations, 19 clinical grand rounds (CGR) presentations, 31 speakers in 17 sponsored sessions, and specific programs for Nurses, Dietitians and Associate Medical Days on the Friday. 

A total of 30 prizes of $500 each were awarded for ASCIA 2021 Conference CGR and Poster presentations. The standard of presentations was high and the scores were close. 

We look forward to seeing you at the ASCIA 2022 Hybrid Conference, which will be held as  hybrid event from Tuesday 30th August to Friday 2nd September 2022.

Kind regards,

Prof Michaela Lucas         Jill Smith 
ASCIA President and Chair, ASCIA 2021 Conference         ASCIA CEO

On behalf of the ASCIA 2021 Conference committee:

ASCIA 2021 Conference committee

Chair - Prof Michaela Lucas (WA) 


ASCIA Directors: Dr Theresa Cole (VIC), A/Prof Jane Peake (QLD), Dr Michael O'Sullivan (WA).

ASCIA Committee Chairs: Dr Karl Baumgart (NSW), Dr Lara Ford (NSW), Dr Katie Frith (NSW), Prof Connie Katelaris AM (NSW), Dr Kathryn Patchett (NSW),

ASCIA Associate Representatives: Kathy Beck (QLD), Dr Kathryn Heyworth (QLD), Dr Briony Tyquin (NSW).

Other members: Dr Tiffany Hughes (SA), Dr Preeti Joshi (NSW), Dr Dean Tey (VIC), Dr Brynn Wainstein (NSW), Dr Melanie Wong (NSW).

ASCIA Council Area Representatives: 
Dr Andrew Baker (NZ), A/Prof Katrina Randall (ACT), Dr Narinder Kaur (NSW), Dr Jovanka King (SA), Dr Alberto Pinzon (QLD), Dr Stephanie Richards (VIC), A/Prof Kristina Rueter (WA).

 Content updated August 2022