Skip to main content

Information updates

International Women's Day

8 March 2021

International Womens Day ASCIA Presidents

On International Women's Day we celebrate ASCIA's female leadership and members.

Pictured left to right: ASCIA Past Presidents Prof Connie Katelaris AM, Prof Jo Douglass and Dr Melanie Wong (now Chair of the Allergy and Immunology Foundation of Australasia) with current ASCIA President Prof Michaela Lucas.

More than 60% of ASCIA's members are women, who are professionals working to improve health outcomes for people with allergy and other immune diseases across Australia and New Zealand. Our members include clinical immunology/allergy specialists, immunology/allergy trainees, other medical practitioners, pharmacists, nurses, dietitians and  scientists. 

The ASCIA team manage the ASCIA Conference and develops world-leading online educational resources under the leadership of our CEO Jill Smith. We work together with ASCIA committees and working parties, as well as our webmasters (Impagination), conference organisers (ICMSA) and graphic designer (Rachael Hopkins). 

We are also proud of the National Allergy Strategy partnership with Allergy & Anaphylaxis Australia (A&AA). Dr Preeti Joshi represents ASCIA as co-chair of this initiative.