ASCIA Education Projects

ASCIA Anaphylaxis projects | ASCIA Food Allergy projects | ASCIA Respiratory/Insect Allergy projects | ASCIA Drug (Medication) Allergy projectsASCIA Skin/Allergy projects | ASCIA Immunodeficiency projects | ASCIA Testing resources | ASCIA COVID-19 resources  

The ASCIA team works with ASCIA members to continually update and develop accessible, consistent and evidence based resources, education and training, to support ASCIA members, their patients/carers, other health professionals and the community. 

In 2020 there were more than:

 ASCIA Anaphylaxis projects 

The following recently completed resources will be promoted in 2021:

Updated 2021 versions of ASCIA Action Plans for Anaphylaxis (3), ASCIA Action Plan for Drug (Medication) Allergy, ASCIA Action Plan for Allergic Reactions and First Aid Plans for Anaphylaxis (3) www.allergy.org.au/anaphylaxis

Updated 2021 ASCIA Action Plan FAQ www.allergy.org.au/hp/anaphylaxis/action-plans-for-allergic-reactions-faq

Updated 2020 ASCIA Anaphylaxis Checklists www.allergy.org.au/hp/anaphylaxis/anaphylaxis-checklist

Updated 2020 ASCIA Guidelines - Acute Management of Anaphylaxis www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/acute-management-of-anaphylaxis-guidelines 

New 2020 ASCIA Guidelines - Acute Management of Anaphylaxis in Pregnancy www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/acute-management-of-anaphylaxis-in-pregnancy

New 2020 How Allergies Work animation www.allergy.org.au/patients/immune-system 

The following projects are scheduled to be completed in 2021:

ASCIA Food Allergy projects 

The following recently completed resources will be promoted in 2021:

New 2021 ASCIA Position Paper Oral Immunotherapy (OIT) for Food Allergy www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/ascia-oral-immunotherapy-for-food-allergy

New 2021 ASCIA Oral Immunotherapy (OIT) for Food Allergy FAQ www.allergy.org.au/patients/allergy-treatment/oral-immunotherapy-for-food-allergy

New 2021 ASCIA Position Statement - Packaged Foods for Infants that Contain Most of the Common Food Allergens www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/infant-feeding-products 

Updated 2020 ASCIA How to introduce solid foods for allergy prevention FAQ www.allergy.org.au/patients/allergy-prevention/ascia-how-to-introduce-solid-foods-to-babies

New 2020 ASCIA Guide for Milk Substitutes in Cow's Milk Allergy (for health professionals) www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/guide-for-milk-substitutes-cows-milk-allergy

New 2020 ASCIA Fast Facts - Eczema and Food Allergy, Cow's Milk Allergy and Peanut Allergy www.allergy.org.au/patients/fast-facts

Updated 2020 ASCIA Egg Allergy and Influenza Vaccination information www.allergy.org.au/patients/food-allergy/egg-allergy-flu-vaccine  

Updated 2020 ASCIA Dietary Avoidance for Cow's Milk Allergy www.allergy.org.au/patients/food-allergy/ascia-dietary-avoidance-for-food-allergy

The following projects are scheduled to be completed in 2021:

ASCIA Respiratory/Insect Allergy projects 

The following recently completed resources will be promoted in 2021:

New 2021 ASCIA Sublingual Immunotherapy (SCIT) Treatment Plan  

Updated 2021 ASCIA Subcutaneous Immunotherapy (SCIT) Treatment Plan www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/scit-treatment-plan
 
New 2021 How to Safely Remove a Tick animation video www.allergy.org.au/patients/insect-allergy-bites-and-stings
 
Updated 2020 ASCIA Allergic Rhinitis Treatment Plan www.allergy.org.au/patients/allergic-rhinitis-hay-fever-and-
sinusitis/allergic-rhinitis-treatment-plan

The following projects are scheduled to be completed in 2021:

ASCIA Drug (Medication) Allergy projects 

The following recently completed resources will be promoted in 2021:

Updated 2021 ASCIA Action Plan for Drug (Medication) Allergy www.allergy.org.au/hp/drug-allergy/ascia-action-plan-for-drug-medication-allergy

Updated 2021 ASCIA Record for Drug (Medication) Allergy www.allergy.org.au/hp/drug-allergy/ascia-record-for-drug-medication-allergy

New 2020 ASCIA Drug (Medication) Allergy Terms www.allergy.org.au/hp/drug-allergy/ascia-drug-medication-allergy-terms

Updated 2020 ASCIA Penicillin Allergy Consensus Statement www.allergy.org.au/members/ascia-penicillin-allergy-guidelines

The following projects are scheduled to be completed in early 2021:

ASCIA Skin/Allergy projects 

The following resources will be promoted in 2021:

New 2020 ASCIA Eczema and Food Allergy Fast Facts www.allergy.org.au/patients/fast-facts/eczema-and-food-allergy

Updated 2020 ASCIA Eczema Action Plan www.allergy.org.au/patients/skin-allergy/eczema-action-plan

Updated 2020 ASCIA Chronic Urticaria Position Statement and Treatment Guidelines www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/chronic-spontaneous-urticaria-csu-guidelines

New 2020 What is Eczema? animation videos www.allergy.org.au/patients/skin-allergy

The following projects are scheduled to be completed in 2021:

ASCIA Immunodeficiency projects 

The following will be promoted in 2021:

New 2021 ASCIA Immunodeficiency Strategy for Australia and New Zealand www.nationalimmunodeficiencystrategy.org.au  

TAPID Collaboration www.allergy.org.au/about-ascia/ascia-initiatives/tapid

New 2020 ASCIA COVID-19 and Immunodeficiency Resources www.allergy.org.au/members/covid-19 

Updated 2020 HAE Position Paper and Management Plan www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/hereditary-angioedema

ASCIA Immunodeficiency Register https://idregister.ascia.org.au/

The following projects are scheduled to be completed in 2021:

ASCIA Testing resources 

The following recently completed resources will be promoted in 2021:

New 2021 ASCIA Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) - Evidence-Based Versus Non Evidence-Based Tests and Treatments for Allergic Disorders (for patients, consumers and carers) www.allergy.org.au/patients/allergy-testing/evidence-based-versus-non-evidence-based-tests-and-treatments 

New 2021 ASCIA Position Paper - Evidence-Based Versus Non Evidence-Based Tests and Treatments for Allergic Disorders (for health professionals) www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/position-paper-evidence-based-versus-non-evidence-based-allergy-tests-and-treatments 

New 2021 ASCIA Reference List - Evidence-Based Versus Non Evidence-Based Tests and Treatments for Allergic Disorders www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/refs-evidence-based-versus-non-evidence-based-allergy-tests-and-treatments 

New 2020 ASCIA Laboratory Investigation of Allergic Diseases www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/tests-in-the-diagnosis-of-allergic-diseases

New 2020 Allergic Reactions Clinical History Form (with type in fields) www.allergy.org.au/hp/anaphylaxis/clinical-history-form-allergic-reactions

Updated 2020 Allergic Reactions Event Record (with type in fields) www.allergy.org.au/hp/anaphylaxis/anaphylaxis-event-record

ASCIA COVID-19 resources 

The following recently completed resources will be promoted in 2021:

New ASCA Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) COVID-19 Vaccination (patients, consumers, carers) www.allergy.org.au/patients/ascia-covid-19-vaccination-faq 

New ASCA Position Statement COVID-19 Vaccination (health professionals)www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/ascia-hp-position-statement-covid-19-vaccination

New ASCIA Guide Allergy and COVID-19 Vaccination (health professionals)www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/guide-allergy-and-covid-19-vaccination

New ASCIA Guide Immunodeficiency, Autoimmunity and COVID-19 Vaccination (health professionals) www.allergy.org.au/hp/papers/guide-immunodeficiency-autoimmunity-and-covid-19-vaccination

ASCIA COVID-19 Resources webpage www.allergy.org.au/members/covid-19 

COVID-19 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) www.allergy.org.au/patients/covid-19#faq

Checklist: Actions to Reduce the Spread of COVID-19 www.allergy.org.au/patients/covid-19#list

COVID-19 and Immunodeficiency (Accessed more than 100,000 times from March to June 2020) www.allergy.org.au/patients/immunodeficiencies/covid-19-and-immunodeficiency
 
COVID-19, Immunodeficiency and School Attendance www.allergy.org.au/patients/immunodeficiencies/covid-19-immunodeficiency-and-schools

Content updated June 2021