©2022 Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy (ASCIA)
ABN 45 615 521 452


TAPID Collaboration

This webpage includes information about:

TAPID collaboration  | TAPID meetings | TAPID publications | TAPID members

TAPID collaboration

The ASCIA TAPID (Transplantation and Primary Immunodeficiency [PID]) program is an important and ongoing expert collaboration facilitated by ASCIA, between clinical immunologists, transplant physicians and international experts.  Dr Theresa Cole is the TAPID coordinator and Chair of the ASCIA Immunodeficiency committee. TAPID members and publications are listed below. 

The main objective of TAPID is to enable complex PID and transplantation cases to be discussed in a confidential expert forum and to publish guidelines. Three publications have been developed as a result of this project and it is our intention to develop more publications in future. 

The TAPID collaboration has been supported by unrestricted educational grants from CSL Behring since 2013.

TAPID meetings

The TAPID collaboration was initiated in May 2013, and since then there have been face to face meetings in February 2014, May 2017, May 2018 and May 2019.  

The ASCIA TAPID 2020 and 2021 face to face/ hybrid meetings were cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions. 

TAPID Zoom meetings continue to be held from 5.30-6.30pm AEDT or AEST on the 3rd Wednesday of each month and the schedule for 2022 is shown below. A TAPID Case Discussion Form needs to be completed for every deidentified case to be discussed. 

pdfTAPID Case Discussion Form95.77 KB

19th January 2022
16th February 2022
16th March 2022
20th April 2022
18th May 2022 
15th June 2022  
20th July 2022
17th August 2022
21st September 2022
19th October 2022
16th November 2022
21st December 2022

TAPID publications

The following publications are included in the ASCIA immunodeficiency reference list :

Richards, S., Gennery, A.R., Davies, G., Wong, M., Shaw, P.J., Peake, J., Fraser,C., Gray, P., Brothers, S., Sinclair, J., Prestidge, T., Preece, K., Quinn, P., Ramachandran, S., Loh, R., McLean-Tooke, A., Mitchell, R., Cole, T., on behalf of ASCIA Transplantation and Primary Immunodeficiency (TAPID) group. (2020). Diagnosis and management of severe combined immunodeficiency in Australia and New Zealand. Journal of Paediatrics and Child Health, 56, 1508–1513.

ASCIA-TAPID Consensus Guideline: Diagnosis, management and transplantation of severe combined   immunodeficiency in Australia and New Zealand. 2019  This Guideline includes information in the published Position Paper (see above) and additional information about transplantation. It is available on the ASCIA website

Cole, T., McLean‐Tooke, A., Loh, R., Quinn, P., Peake, J., Sinclair, J., Gray, P., Wong, M., Smith, J., Davies, G., Gennery, A., Smart, J. (2018). ASCIA transplantation and primary immunodeficiency (TAPID) project. Internal Medicine Journal, 48, Issue S6.

TAPID members

There are currently 162 TAPID members who are listed below.

ASCIA members (94)

Dr Fuad Abbas WA
Dr Caroline Allan NZ
A/Prof Rohan Ameratunga NZ
Dr Samara Baldwin WA
Dr Tatjana Banovic SA
Dr Russell Barker NZ
Jan Belcher NSW
Dr Rani Bhatia NSW
Dr Annaliesse Blincoe NZ
Dr Julian Bosco VIC
Dr Isabelle Bosi NSW
Dr Jack Bourke WA
Dr Tim Brettig VIC
Dr Maia Brewerton NZ
Dr Shannon Brothers NZ
Prof Dianne Campbell NSW
Dr Damien Chan SA
Dr Lydia Chan NZ
Dr Josh Chatelier VIC
Dr Kritika Chetty VIC
Dr Abigail Cheung SA
Dr Theresa Cole VIC
Dr Theo DeMalmanche NSW
Prof Jo Douglass VIC
Dr Luke Droney QLD
Ms Rachael Dunn WA
Dr Marianne Empson NZ
Dr Elizabeth Forbes QLD
Dr Lara Ford NSW
Dr Katie Frith NSW
Dr David Gillis QLD
Dr Paul Gray NSW
Dr Kuang-Chih Hsiao NZ
Dr Peter Hsu NSW
Dr Benedicta Itotoh WA
Dr Henning Johannsen SA
A/Prof Alyson Kakakios OAM NSW
Dr Ashisha Kallukaran QLD
Dr Alisa Kane NSW
Dr Jovanka King WA
Dr Shruti Kohli NSW
Dr Kuang-Chih Hsiao NZ
Dr Aimee Huynh QLD
Dr Michael Lane QLD
Dr Daman Langguth QLD
Dr Edward Lea NZ
Dr Omega Leong VIC
Dr Maggie Li NSW
Dr Ming-Wei Lin NSW
Dr Karen Lindsay NZ
A/Prof Richard Loh WA
Dr Paxton Loke VIC
A/Prof Hilary Longhurst NZ
Prof Michaela Lucas WA
Dr Tracy Markus WA
Dr Jeremy McComish VIC
Dr Andrew McLean-Tooke WA
Dr Peter McNaughton QLD
Dr Sam Mehr VIC
Dr Mariana Melo QLD
Ms Natasha Moseley WA
Dr Mahila Namasivayam NSW
Dr Katherine Nicholls VIC
Dr Melissa Norman NSW
Dr Tess O'Gorman WA 
Dr Samar Ojaimi VIC
Dr Elize O'Reilly QLD
Dr Michael O'Sullivan WA
Dr Julia Payne VIC
Dr Jane Peake QLD
Dr Alberto Pinzon QLD
Dr Kahn Preece NSW
Dr Phillippa Pucar SA
Dr Patrick Quinn SA
Dr Christiane Remke WA
Dr Stephanie Richards VIC
Prof Peter Richmond WA
A/Prof Kristina Rueter WA
Dr Sabeena Selvarajah VIC
Dr Bella Shadur VIC
Dr Jan Sinclair NZ
Dr Charlotte Slade VIC
Dr Joanne Smart VIC
Dr Stephanie Stojanovic VIC
Ms Anna Sullivan QLD
Dr Shruti Swamy NSW
Dr Meera Thalayasingam WA
Dr Grace Thompson WA
Dr Gary Unglik VIC
Mr Ben Van Dort VIC
Dr Brynn Wainstein NSW
Dr Sophie Willcocks QLD
Dr Melanie Wong NSW
Dr Virginia Wootton QLD
Prof John Ziegler AM NSW
Non-ASCIA members (68)
Mr Frank Alvaro NSW
Dr Shankar Anand QLD
Dr Krishanthi Ariyawansa QLD
Ms Rebecca Beardmore QLD
Dr Angela Berkhout VIC
Dr Danielle Blunt SA
Dr Emily Blyth NSW
Dr Siobhan Burns UK
Dr Tina Carter WA
Dr Vasant Chinnabhandar WA
Dr Sharon Choo VIC
Dr Kimberly Chung QLD
Dr Julia Clark QLD
Dr Catherine Cole WA
Dr Rachel Conyers VIC
Dr Graham Davies UK
Dr David Deambrosis QLD
Dr Mayank Dhamija WA
Dr Yean Ewe WA
Dr Jacqueline Fleming VIC
Dr David Foley WA
Dr Timothy Ford WA
Dr Chris Fraser QLD
Dr Eliska Furlong WA
Dr Melissa Gabriel NSW
Dr Julia Gardner TAS
Dr Andy Gennery UK
Dr Andrew Grigg VIC
Dr Nada Hamad NSW
Dr Diane Hanna VIC
Dr Laine Hosking VIC
Dr Jonathan Holzmann QLD
Dr David Hughes VIC
Dr Danielle Jeays QLD
Dr Elizabeth Kang USA
Dr Steven Keogh NSW
Dr Kylie Mason VIC
Dr Richard Mitchell NSW
Dr John Moore NSW
Dr Emma Morris UK
Dr Saravanan Muthusamy WA
Dr Leonie Naeije NZ
Dr Adam Nelson NSW
Dr Michelle Ng WA
Dr Jenna Nunn QLD
Dr Manika Pal SA
Dr Madeleine Powys NSW
Dr Tim Prestidge NZ
Dr Duncan Purtill WA
Dr Shanti Ramachandran WA
Dr David Routledge VIC
Dr Anthony Schwarer VIC
Dr Joshua Serov QLD
Dr Peter Shaw NSW
Ms Jill Shergold QLD
Dr Mary Slatter UK
Dr Trisha SooshayRaj QLD
Dr Shampavi Sriharan QLD
Dr Heather Tapp SA
Dr Lochie Teague NZ
Dr Sara Toofanian WA
Dr Toby Trahair NSW
Dr Rebekah Turner QLD
Dr Stacie Wang VIC
Dr Barbara Withers NSW
Dr Eric Wong VIC
Dr Shu Wong VIC
Content updated August 2022